Olympic Remedy

Here’s a letter I wrote to The Independent years and years ago. I was highly amused by the idea although I wasn’t expecting it to be published in the sports pages. The sports editor rang me and we spent a little while giggling at the prospect of watching members of the public taking part in the Olympics. It still tickles me from time to time.

Anyway, here’s the letter:

“From Mr F Pearson
Sir: I must admit that I am not a keen sports fan at the best of times, but the Olympics has stirred sensations of great boredom in me. Hundreds of finely tuned, occasionally drug-enhanced competitors participating in events that are decided in fractions of a second have taken away any possible thrill.

As a remedy, I suggest that in future Olympic Games the competitors be selected by a random process from the general public, eight weeks before the Games commence (to give them a chance to train). I believe even mundane events – such as the pole vault, gymnastics and synchronised swimming – would be given a new lease of life.

FENNER PEARSON

Cumbria”

The letter, which was originally published in the newspaper, of course, on Wednesday 24th July 1996, can still be seen here.

About fennerpearson

http://fennerpearson@wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

