Some songs in the car

I’m quite keen that blogging – Blogging! – becomes less of An Event for me. I’d like this to become more of a scrapbook, full of all sorts of stuff of whatever value. So, in that spirit here is a list of songs.

The history of this list is that last Easter, Hannelie took our two children on holiday to Cape Town and I took my four older daughters for a long weekend to London, to stay with my parents. I made a playlist for the journey down, consisting of songs they’d remember from what I used to play when they were small and some more contemporary songs that I knew they liked.

Today, Hannelie and I drove to my folks’ with our two, so I used the same playlist (on random) and this is what we listened to:

Future Boy – Catherine Wheel
Firestarter – The Prodigy
Everyday Should Be A Holiday – The Dandy Warhols
Small Town – Lou Reed & John Cale
Chicago – Sufjan Stevens
Pretty Vacant – Sex Pistols
Atmosphere – Joy Division
Piece Of Me – Britney Spears
She Cries Your Name – Beth Orton
A Fool In Love – Tina Turner
I Like Birds (Live At Town Hall) – Eels
Been Caught Stealing – Jane’s Addiction
Living on the Ceiling – Blancmange
Drama! – Erasure
Flying Saucer – The Wedding Present
Keep the Car Running – Arcade Fire
Get Off My Cloud – The Rolling Stones
Lucretia My Reflection – The Sisters Of Mercy
Butterfly – Lloyd Cole
Bodies – Robbie Williams
Man On The Moon – R.E.M.
In the Air Tonight – Phil Collins
You’ve Got The Love – Florence & The Machine
I See You Baby – Groove Armada

We had a break here while the kids watched Ice Age in the back on Han’s laptop. This was less entertaining than you’d think from the front seats. (No, less than that.)

Crash – Primitives
Blue Bayou – Roy Orbison
Tainted Love – Soft Cell
I’ve Got My TV & My Pills – Julian Cope
One Day Like This – Elbow
Troy – Sinéad O’Connor
Yellow – Coldplay
Mad World – Tears For Fears
Rhapsody in Blue – George Gershwin and His Orchestra
All Apologies – Nirvana
Drinking In L.A. – Bran Van 3000
Fashion – David Bowie
Don’t Call Me Darling – The Fall
She Drives Me Crazy – Fine Young Cannibals
Right Here, Right Now – Fatboy Slim
Fidelity – Regina Spektor
Relax (New York Mix – The Original 12`) – Frankie Goes To Hollywood
We Got The Beat – The Go-Go’s
Just Like Fred Astaire – James
Ode To Boy II – Alison Moyet
New In Town – Little Boots

About fennerpearson

http://fennerpearson@wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some songs in the car

  1. Jon says:

    My youngest two insist on having ‘Man on the moon’ and ‘Nightswimming’ on in the car at least 3 times on every journey and sing them word for word. I hope these memories stay with them as they get older.

    • Thanks for commenting, Jon.

      Mine certainly remember all the songs we used to play. What’s tickled me recently is being berated by them for what they perceive as gaps in their ‘education’ from me: “Why didn’t you tell us about Brian Eno?” was a recent criticism 🙂

Leave a Reply

